Why I Have Membership

As a young player years ago, the number one thing I wished for my birthday was Club Penguin membership. It would allow me to access so much more to this vast virtual world. I could buy more clothes, play more games, decorate my igloo, and more. What about now? Well, my mentality on obtaining membership has somewhat changed.

Yes, it is true that membership provides unlimited experiences in Club Penguin. Yes, it decorates your player card (that shiny badge though!) Yes, it makes you feel like you can do anything in Club Penguin you want.

CP - Member badge

Image result for meme faces happy

But lately, whenever I purchase membership, I honestly do not take the above benefits into mind, like I did before. Why is this? First of all, everything in Club Penguin is familiar to me now. The newness factor is missing. For example, I finished all available game levels. Regardless, you can always change up your outfit or igloo, but one problem here is that Club Penguin, for now, rarely creates brand new items. Catalogs are basically recycled, meaning that the items that are up for purchase are things that I already have owned. Thus, is membership still worth it? After all, the current Club Penguin is not contributing anything new, making it less worthwhile.

The answer to the above question is YES, membership is still good to have! But for today’s circumstances, I primarily own membership to support the game financially. In my younger years, this was still one of the reasons I had it, but I also took the unlimited access to Club Penguin’s content into mind. Right now, I barely think about the membership benefits in Club Penguin that gives unlimited access. I am putting more attention to how I love Club Penguin then, and still now, which is why I want to help them by having a membership, especially when their popularity has been declining.

A few notes about this post, hopefully to clarify things:

  • I still play Club Penguin.
  • I still have membership.
  • This post regards the current Club Penguin. I fully understand that Club Penguin is putting more of their work into Project: Super Secret than today’s game. I am just explaining why I have membership as of today, not in the past or the future.
Leave a Reply

